Day: October 12, 2013

A trip down memory lane..

Posted on Updated on

Earlier this morning I was marching down the lane from the local railway station that leads to my home in Chennai.. It’s about a kilometre walk and it has been a little over 2 months since my last visit, but I couldn’t help notice the innumerous changes that has metamorphosized the place into what it is today. Now, these are not changes that had happened just over the last 2 months, but probably accumulated over god knows how long. The mere fact that I’ve remained oblivious to all these changes that are usually “visible to naked eye, yet invisible to the mind’s eye” made me take a stroll down the memory lane and contrast it with the vivid memories that I had of roaming around the place as a kid.

Right from the point when I got off the train, I stood facing the immortal Madras Institute of Technology ( incidentally the alma mater of former president Dr. Abdul Kalam ), somehow this building has withstood the test of time ( at least from the outside ). Down to the stretch that leads to my home, I obviously had to spot a few distantly familiar faces and the ubiquitous judgemental eyes( this is probably because of my rugged and urban Al-Qaeda gangsta look 😉 ). My eyes went searching for those empty roadside wagons where I used to devour samosas, only to realize my mouth has started watering already! The once gigantic looking gate to the Govt. boys high school, where we used to play around as boys, for some reason looked a tad smaller. Does time actually make things look smaller or is it just my mind?? Still puzzled by that thought, I continued walking down the lane to find a dozen new little shops strewn across either side of the road. All I could think about for the last few metres was the fact that I get to eat home made food for the next couple of days! Overwhelmed by that thought, I finally reached the one place on this earth that I’d like to call my home, rest all just remain mere apartments or houses..  Memories do play a confusing role. They make you laugh when you remember the time you cried! But make you cry when you remember the time you laughed”. True Story!